Document Type


Publication Date



Knowledge of educational psychologist K. Ann Renninger’s (2009) Four Phases of Interest Development can enhance librarians’ effectiveness in reference transactions. The Phases of Interest Development model is based on the proposition that interest is based on “triggers” capable of shifting learners’ thinking by introducing surprise, novelty, unexpected complexity or cognitive dissonance. These “triggers” share many characteristics with the “threshold concepts” embedded in the Framework for Information Literacy. The Four Phases of Interest Development are: 1) triggered situational interest, 2) maintained situational interest, 3) emerging individual interest and 4) well-developed individual interest.

ACRL 2017 Four Phases of Interest Development.pptx (340 kB)
PowerPoint of conference presentation



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.